Reader Question -Whats In My Gym Bag?

So in todays blog we are going to answer an email i got from a reader last week...

 

"Ok Shawn I know this is going to be a really random question but maybe you can shed some light. I am pretty new to the gym. I started training just about 6 months ago and I'm currently using your SHDUPA training plan which I'm really enjoying by the way :D But anyway at the gym I see a lot of people that have a dedicated gym bag. Now i understand the importance of it so you can carry your gear that you need but to be honest i'm clueless what to put in my gym bag haha. I know it sounds stupid but all i have is water, a towel, and some shoes. Can you please just for example let me know what you have in your gym bag? Thanks!" - Alex

Hey Alex, this is not a dumb question at all and i would be happy to share what i have in my gym bag and what i see being beneficial. Now i know i might have way to much crap in my bag but honestly i would rather be over prepared than underprepared when training. I will go through my top 10 list and explain why i have each thing and i will also post a link to where you can get the items if you want to purchase them.

Top 11 Items In My Gym Bag

1. Wrist Wraps

Wrist wraps are a must for me. Any type of pressing movement over the years can really put tons of strain of your wrist and with my small wrists these really help me eliminate wrist pain and allow me to press more weight and feel good when doing so. I love the Gangsta Wraps from HowMuchYaBench.net. Mark Bell made some amazing wraps that can honestly take a beating. I'm still on my first pair and i bought them 3 years ago!

https://markbellslingshot.com/collections/straps-wraps-support/products/gangsta-wraps

2. Elbow Sleeves

Now these for a lot of people are not a must but if you have a history of elbow pain when pressing then these are also very useful to have. I actually use my old Slingshot Knee sleeves for my elbow sleeves and they work perfect to give me just the right amount of support. I'm in need of an upgrade tho soon.

https://markbellslingshot.com/collections/knee-elbow-sleeves/products/sling-shot-knee-sleeves-2-0

3. Doo Rag and Headband

Now if you don't have long hair like i do then you don't need these but if your like me you have to have something to keep the hair back. I really like the cheap Doo Rags from Walmart. They are simple to tie and perfect for keeping the hair back when you train. Then also i like having a headband on top of the Doo Rag to make it feel more support.

Doo Rag - https://www.walmart.com/ip/Occunomix-TN6-FR-Tuff-Nougies-Deluxe-Tie-Hat-Doo-Rag-with-Flame-Resistant-Treatment-Black/270319239

Headband - https://alphaironpress.com/products/brick-by-brick-biolayne-headband

4. Quick Release Medical Tourniquets

If you have followed me for a while then you know i love including blood flow restriction training at the end of my training sessions. I use these super cheap tourniquets from amazon. Don't know about blood flow restriction training? check out this article then. I personally use upper BFR 3 times a week and lower 1 time a week.

https://www.amazon.com/Occlusion-Tourniquets-Quick-Release-Tourniquet/dp/B01LYQLPPS/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1518536074&sr=8-3&keywords=quick+release+tourniquet

5. Knee Wraps for BFR for Lower Body

The quick release tourniquets don't work well for lower body so i use regular cheap knee wraps for lower body BFR. 

https://www.amazon.com/Harbinger-46300-78-Inch-Wraps-Weightlifting/dp/B00074H80Y/ref=sr_1_4?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1518536370&sr=1-4&keywords=knee+wraps

Never Done Blood Flow Restriction Before? Learn How in this blog where i also discuss methods to improve your recovery!

 

6. Knee Sleeves

If you squat then these are a must. My STrong Sleeves from HowMuchYaBench.net are the only sleeves i use and recommend.

https://markbellslingshot.com/collections/knee-elbow-sleeves/products/strong-knee-sleeves

7. Squat Shoes

There are lots of opinions of squat shoes but for me i like them and i notice a tremendous difference in my stability and power when i wear them. i like the Adidas Power lift 2.0 Weightlifting Shoes. They have a 3.0 out now that i want to try so i might be upgrading soon.

https://www.amazon.com/adidas-Powerlift-2-0-Weightlifting-Shoes/dp/B00ZGFX3QW/ref=sr_1_15?s=apparel&ie=UTF8&qid=1518536540&sr=1-15&nodeID=679255011&psd=1&keywords=adidas+powerlift

8. Lockjaw Barbell Collars

The cheap spring collars at the gym are a no go for me. I prefer the Lockjaw collars so i know everything is secure, plus they just look damn cool :D

https://www.amazon.com/Systems-Lock-Jaw-Olympic-Barbell-50475/dp/B000XUC11I/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1518629239&sr=8-4&keywords=lock+jaw+collar

9. Headphones

Ok i know i'm old school here but i really like the JayBird BBX1MB BlueBuds X Sport Bluetooth Headphones. They always connect, sound great, and not overly expensive

https://www.amazon.com/JayBird-BBX1MB-BlueBuds-Bluetooth-Headphones/dp/B00AIRUOI8/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1518536787&sr=1-2-fkmr0&keywords=jaybird+headphones+x1

10. Versa Grips

So i don't use these often but i do like using them on heavy barbell shrugs so that my grip is not a limiting factor. These are so much better than regular wrist straps. Expensive but worth it.

https://www.amazon.com/Versa-Gripps-Weight-Lifting-Straps/dp/B002Y2S6K8

 

11. Mark Bell's Hip Circle

I should seriously just be a walking billboard for Slingshot LOL another amazing product by them. The hip circle is my go to item to use for my squat warm ups and i also use them when i do hip thrusts to really help with glute activation. Choose the grippy one tho, it stays in place no matter what.

https://markbellslingshot.com/collections/hip-circles/products/grippy-hip-circle

Summary

So those are the top 11 things i have in my gym bag. What do you guys have in your  gym bags? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Thanks for the question Alex! If anyone else has a question or topic they want me to cover just shoot me an email (fausey14@gmail.com) and i would be happy to cover it!

 

If you guys enjoyed this weeks blog let me know and feel free to share on your social media as i greatly would appreciate it. Till next week guys.

 

Stay Strong,

Shawn Fausey

Looking for a coach that understands you and your goals?

look no further and sign up for Fausey's Fitness Coaching Here!

• Custom Programming

• Custom Macro Calculations

• Weekly Check-Ins

  • Shawn Fausey is the Founder and CEO of Fausey's Fitness. With Over 6 years experience in Bodybuilding, Powerlifting and Nutrition. Shawn offers services of online fitness coaching, programing and consulting. Shawn is also a Graphic Designer and can be reached for graphic services on www.rev-graphics.com
  • Follow me on Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube | Google +

You Might Also Be Interested In Checking Out